The Papua Insects Foundation

about us:






The Nolinae (Lepidoptera: Nolidae) of Papua Indonesia

by Rob de Vos

Note: Just recently the large family Noctuidae has been revised by DNA analysis at higher taxonomic level (Zahiri et al, 2010) which resulted in a new arrangement of the traditional subfamilies within Noctuidae, Erebidae, Euteliidae and Nolidae. Former families as Lymantriidae and Arctiidae are now placed as subfamilies in the Erebidae! Although the DNA research at these taxa have not reached the end yet it has become clear that the new classification shows a more correct arrangement than the traditional one does we follow the latest results.

Listed New Guinea Nolinae species: 34 [25 recorded from Papua]

Many still undescribed species of the Nolinae have been collected during recent surveys. It will take some time before they will be described by specialists and dealth with in this checklist. These species are not depicted in the thumbnail page yet.

Species which are not recorded with certainty from Papua yet are coloured grey

thumbnail gallery



Acatapaustus Bethune-Baker, 1904

basifusca Bethune-Baker, 1904

ekeikei Bethune-Baker, 1904
eceicei sensu Hampson, 1914 [incorrect spelling]

Austrocarea Holloway, 1977

orthoscia (Warren, 1915)

Evonima Walker, 1865

ochritincta (Hampson, 1901)

Manoba Walker, 1863

albina Rothschild, 1912

albiplagiata Rothschild, 1912

divisa Rothschild, 1913

lactogrisea Rothschild, 1912

terminalis Rothschild, 1912

Meganola Dyar, 1898

aroa (Bethune-Baker, 1904)

atrinota (Hampson, 1911)

basifusca (Bethune-Baker, 1904)

hemizona (Hampson, 1911)

nigrobasalis (Rothschild, 1916)

Nola Leach, [1815]

albescens Bethune-Baker, 1908

bifascialis (Walker, 1864)
liparisalis (Walker, 1865)

bilineola (Rothschild, 1916)

chionaecensis (Hampson, 1914)

diagona Hampson, 1911

diplogramma (Hampson, 1916)

eugrapha Hampson, 1914

fasciata (Walker, 1866)
nigrifascia Hampson, 1891
nigrofascia Hampson, 1893
platygona (Lower, 1897)

fuscibasis (Bethune-Baker, 1904)

grisescens (Bethune-Baker, 1908)

interrupta (Rothschild, 1916)

irrorata (Rothschild, 1916)

mesosticta (Hampson, 1900)

obliqua Bethune-Baker, 1908

opalina (Walker, 1862)
basimicans Hampson, 1894

pumila Snellen, 1875
spreta Butler, 1880
tetrophthalma (Meyrick, 1889)
minuta Hampson, 1891

semidolosa (Walker, [1863])
aroa (Bethune-Baker, 1904)
murina (Rothschild, 1916)

Pisara Walker, 1862

owgarra Bethune-Baker, 1908

Sarbena Walker, 1862

hollowayi Laszlo, Ronkay & Witt, 2004


Gelastocera group

Beara Walker, 1866

falcata Holloway, 1982


last updated 26th April 2021